Image

The Lost Rainbow

DSC_2819-01-01

I have a memory, a rather old, withered but still strong enough for the impact it creates in my mind.
It might be strange, but here it is. I was little, almost 6. Jumping and laughing around with friends. The next moment we found ourselves running inside the building cause it started pouring. But thank the rain gods, it lasted a good few minutes and we were out again. That was when somebody shouted with glee and began to run up the stairs, we all ran up too holding the excitement within. While almost reaching the last few steps to the door of the terrace I heard a voice, “It’s a Rainbow!” and I remember that I stopped right after listening to that. I was excited, I had never seen a rainbow before. Well it had just been 2 years since I even learnt how to say the word rainbow properly. I began to think, in those few fraction of seconds I had, Huge, multiple waves of thoughts started hitting the brain. “How big will it be? Will it be too close? Will seeing the colours hurt my eyes?” I want to see it, but what if seeing it brings bad luck or something?. I couldn’t stop thinking. Why? I was scared. My friends pulled me through the door, out in the open and all I did was scream and shout and shut my eyes tight. I just couldn’t face this.
Iridophobia is what they say is fear of rainbows. My friends held my hands, “Open your eyes! Its going to fade away quickly”, they said almost in unison, screaming right into my ears. But I didn’t, I couldn’t.
At last when I heard multiple sighs, I gathered courage and looked with squinted eyes. I couldn’t see anything. So very slowly I opened them wide, And there it was, a blue sky with grey and white clouds and NO RAINBOW! “Where is it?” I asked. “It’s gone, honey. You missed it” said a friend, a bit older to me.
“You missed it” The three words still so clear somewhere in the back of my head. Had I seen it, It would have been the first ever rainbow of my life! I would have seen it spread it’s stroke of VIBGYOR all over. But I missed it.
I Keep wondering whenever I think about this incident. Why was I scared? It was just a rainbow. I never even shared this with anybody in person. Was too ashamed to.
But When I think about it now, I only know what it taught me. Opportunity. Everyone knows that a moment once lost will never come back. Well, Opportunity knocks twice if you’re lucky. And what is Luck? Your ability to identify this opportunity.
Never Let a moment pass. No matter what it is. Breathe in like its your last breath to live for. Watch the sun rise and sun set. Look out for moments which put a wide smile on your face. Look out for moments by which you can put a smile on others’ face. The world is beautiful when its happy.
Live each happy moment. Cause that is an opportunity for your heart to feel lighter. That is your moment of seeing the rainbow with its entire glow within your own self.
I didn’t get another chance to see a rainbow ever again even after 17 years have passed. But I never stop looking. After all, when the rains of sorrow in life go away, there is always hope for a rainbow that fills us with colours and new light.

Photo credits – Parag Vyas

2 thoughts on “The Lost Rainbow

Leave a Reply

